Frequently Asked Questions
1. Directions to Range?
The range is located off of County Highway Q on 130th Street just to the north of Tilden. The address is 10495 – 130th Street, Bloomer, WI, 54724.
2. What are the hours of the range?
Hours of Operation as governed by our conditional use permit:
Monday through Saturday 9:00 AM to sunset as defined in the DNR Regulations
Sunday: 10:00 AM to sunset as defined in the DNR Regulations
3. What is the cost of the range?
All users of the range shall pay the daily user fee ($5.00) to the Range Safety Officer or at the fee collection station. Patrons who have purchased a yearly membership ($15.00) shall have proof of membership on their person while using the range. All individuals who fail to pay the daily fee shall be subject to forfeitures and/or fines for county ordinance and/or statutory violations for criminal trespass. Daily fees paid at the collection box.
4. How do I purchase a yearly membership?
Yearly memberships can be purchased at the collection box, in person from the Chippewa County Facilities & Parks Office (711 N. Bridge Street, Lower Level Room 012, Chippewa Falls) or online at www.CCpermit.us
5. What targets are authorized at the range?
The following are authorized targets for use at the range:
Any commercially available paper targets
Homemade paper targets
Any other targets approved by the Certified Range Safety Officer
No shooting at unauthorized targets (cans, bottles, boxes, etc.). At no time shall any individual discharge a firearm in a manner that potentially jeopardizes the safety of others. Targets may only be placed on target standards approved by the firearms range board. Shooting at target stands or frames, any object containing glass, or any such material that may cause potentially dangerous debris is prohibited. Shoot only so that the projectile impacts the backstop berm. All shooters are required to pick up all targets they used and all spent ammunition casing when finished with shooting. Failure to retrieve such targets and casing shall be considered littering and subject the violator to possible fines and loss of shooting privileges at the range and forfeitures and fines for Littering pursuant to Chippewa County Ordinances and/or Wisconsin Statutes.
6. What about empty casings?
All shooters are required to pick up all targets they used and all spent ammunition casing when finished with shooting. Failure to retrieve such targets and casings shall be considered littering and subject the violator to possible fines and loss of shooting privileges at the range and forfeitures and fines for Littering pursuant to Chippewa County Ordinances and/or Wisconsin Statutes.
7. What about eye and ear protection?
Everyone within close proximity to an active firing line must wear eye and ear protection at all times. Spectators are also required to wear ear and eye protection on the firing line.
8. What do I do if I see unsafe firearms use?
All shooters are responsible to immediately correct any unsafe conditions. If you observe an unsafe condition that you are unable to correct, report it immediately to range attendant or the Chippewa County Sheriff’s Department (726-7701).
9. What about children?
Adult supervision is required for all shooters under the age of 14 years of age. Shooters under the age of 14 years old must be accompanied by a parent, guardian or adult designated by the parent or guardian.
10. What about clay shooting?
No skeet or clay target shooting is allowed at the firearms range.
11. How do I reserve the firearms range?
The range is available for reservation to any group that needs the training facility, the long gun range, or the pistol range or both. Call the Facilities & Parks office at 715-726-7882 for more information. Please look at the range calendar for availability.
12. What is the cost of reserving the range?
For charitable, nonprofit service groups (i.e. Boy Scouts, 4-H, Appleseed, Hunter’s Safety, Certified Law Enforcement groups) there is no cost. For all others, the cost is $175 per day.
13. What do I do in case of an emergency?
Emergency rules are created to minimize confusion and save time responding during an emergency. Chippewa County utilizes E911
Personal Injury: Call 911 to secure aid. Return to the injured person and do what you can to help. Post a person, if available, at the range entrance to direct emergency vehicles. Take written notes from all witnesses.
Fire: Call 911 then clear the area. Post a person, if available, at the range entrance to direct emergency vehicles.
ALL EMERGENCIES MUST BE REPORTED TO THE CHIPPEWA COUNTY SHERIFF’S DEPARTMENT
AND TO THE CHIPPEWA COUNTY FIREARMS RANGE BOARD.